Aerial 360 Panorama - East Belfast

Pano Listing
Aerial 360 Panorama - East Belfast
Aerial 360 Panorama - East Belfast

Click here to view this Panorama

Titanic Dry dock and Pumphouse - East Belfast

In 1853, East Belfast became part of the City of Belfast following an outward extension of the municipal boundary, to take in the townland of Ballymacarrett on the Co Down side of the River Lagan. It was, from the start an important contributor to the industrial success of the city, providing employment within the glassworks, foundry, ropeworks, and with the growth of its shipyard. The shipyard gave a unique, close-knit character to the local community. Literally thousands of households were linked by having members working in what was at one period the world's largest single shipyard, Harland and Wolff, which at its peak had over 30,000 employees.

East Belfast

Although East Belfast no longer rings to the sounds of shipbuilding, the special community identity is still strong. Known worldwide as home to the ill-fated Titanic, the area, subsequently extended to absorb the villages of Sydenham, Strandtown and Knock, has other claims to fame. It had the world's largest ropeworks and Short Brothers (now Bombardier), pioneers in aviation and builders of the Sunderland flying boat and the Stirling bomber, who still operate not far from the original site.


Copyright 2024 Colin Williams Photography - Company. Developed by The Flex Studio